Tournament Results

2015 Reno Larry Evans Memorial

A number of players from Washington and Oregon took part in the event. Phillip Seitzer of Portland, Oregon pushed his rating over 2200 for the first time with his result in this event.


CLICK HERE for the crosstable.

CLICK HERE for some photos that I took.

There was a 22 player BLITZ tournament held as part of the event. Several PNW players took part including your reporter.

CLICK HERE for USCF crosstable of this event.

Tournament Results

PNW Players do Well in Reno

The 31st Annual Reno Western States Open was held Oct 17 to 20, 2013. There were 201 players in 8 sections including a Blitz Event. As usual, Jerome Weikel of Reno was the organizer and TD.

CLICK HERE for Crosstables.

37 players in the Open section with 6 players getting 4.5-1.5 scores. Check the crosstable for the list.

Gil Lapid Shafriri of WA was the best PNW scorer at 3-3. Corey Russell of Medford had 2.5-3.5 as did Aaron Putman of Seattle, WA.

The Expert Section was won by Aaron Grabinsky of Coquille, Oregon with 5.5-.5. Preston Polasek of Lafayette, Oregon had 4-2. Fred Kleist of Seattle was at 3.5-2.5 as was Edwin Battistella of Ashland, Oregon.

Drayton Harrison of Seattle won the A Section with 6-0. At 3.5-2.5 was Ritchie Duron of Oregon. At 3-3 was Mike Schemm of Seattle.

In B Section Ralph Anthony of Mukilteo, WA scored 3.5-2.5. At 3-3 were Dan Mayers of Idaho, Ewald Hopfenzitz of OR plus August Piper of Seattle.

In the C Section Kerry Van Veen of Seattle WA, Josiah Perkins of Coquille, OR, Bernard Spera of OR all scored 4.5-1.5 to tie for 2nd., Joshua Grabinsky of Coquille, OR was the only 4-2 score.

Best score by a PNW player in the D Section was by Tim Sheehan of WA at 4-2. At 3-3 was Sarai Perkins of Coquille, OR. She also won a side game.

20 players took part in the Blitz tournament won by Enrico Sevillano of CA with 10-0. Nick Raptis of Portland was 2nd at 7.5-2.5.

CLICK HERE for the article by Randy Hough on the USCF website about the event.

Per this article the Seattle Chess Club won the team prize.