Tournament Results

Seattle Chess Classic draws 75 players!

Seattle Chess Classic Open and Reserve Section players.

FM Roland Feng, the current WA State co-Champion, won the first Seattle Chess Classic with an undefeated 7/9 and took home the $1300 first place prize!  Roland finished half a point ahead of second place finishers IM Ray Kaufman, FM Tanraj Sohal and NM Daniel He.  Tying for 2nd U2300 with 6 points each were WIM Megan Lee, FM Ignacio Perez, and NM Derek Zhang.  Benjamin Mukumbya, who starred in the recent Disney film Queen of Katwe, and Naomi Bashkansky tied for first U2150/U2000, also with 6 points.  Vikram Ramasamy and David Rupel tied for 2nd U2150 with 5.5 points.  Travis Olson won clear 2nd U2000 with 5 points.  Nicholas Whale had an amazing tournament and took home the U1850 prize with 5.5 points, raising his rating by 200 points in the process!  Vignesh Anand and Thomas Taylor split 2nd U1850 honors with 4.5 points each.  Megan Lee and Naomi Bashkansky added to their prize winnings by splitting the Top Female prize, while Ignacio Perez, who just recently turned 50, took home the Top Senior prize.

In the Reserve section, two players dominated the 21-player field and both scored an amazing 8/9 – Jacob Mayer and Jeffrey Yan!  They each won $275.50 and picked up some bonus points along the way.  Robin Tu and Sophie Szeto tied for 3rd/U1600 with 5.5 points each.  They were half a point ahead of Lorenzo Patton and Melina Li, who tied for 2nd U1600.  Alison Xiao and Ajay Pai split first U1450/U1300 with 5.0 points each.  Half a point back were Harrison Toppen-Ryan and Ethan Su, who tied for 2nd U1450.  Young Anand Gupta won 2nd U1300 with 4.5 points, and Kabir Hotani took down the U1150 prize with the same score.  Raymond Zhang from Vancouver, B.C. won 2nd U1150 with 3.5 points.  Sophie Szeto won Top Female honors and August Piper took home the Top Senior Prize.  Congratulations to all of the winners!

The Seattle Chess Classic was directed by Fred Kleist, hosted by Seattle Chess Club, and organized by WCF President Josh Sinanan.

The US Chess crosstable can be found here.

Photos from the tournament can be viewed on the WCF Facebook Page.

Tournament Results

2015 WA Class Championships

The 2015 WA Class Championships were held at North Seattle Community College from Nov. 27-29. 160 players took part, mostly from Washington, Oregon and British Columbia.  The winners in each section were as follows:

Master 2200+: FM Roland Feng $500

2015-11-29 19.11.15

Expert 2000-2200: FM Paul Bartron $400

2015-11-29 20.37.09

Class A 1800-2000: Vikram Ramasamy (6-0!) $300

2015-11-29 21.11.25

Class B 1600-1800: Robin Tu $300

2015-11-29 21.04.35

Class C 1400-1600: Jason Zhang $300 and Zeren Gao (unr.)

Class D 1200-1400: Brandon Jiang $300

Class E 1000-1200: Graham Cobden $200 and Rishi Hazra (medal)

US Chess (USCF) crosstables for the 2015 Washington Class Championships.

Tournament Results

Roland Feng and David Golub win 2015 Seattle Seafair Open

Roland and Golub

FM Roland Feng and NM David Golub topped the 70-player field of the 2015 Seattle Seafair Open, each scoring a perfect 5 wins from 5 games. The tournament was hosted by Seattle Chess Club July 24-26 and directed by the inimitable Fred Kleist, who paired the entire event by hand! A slew of players tied for 2nd with 4 points: FM Bill Schill, Bada Norovsambuu, and Anthony He. The tournament has now been rated: USCF Crosstable.

Anthony and Jason

Tournament Results

Roland Feng repeats as 2015 WA Open Champion!!

Roland and JoshThe 2015 WA Open was held at the Lynnwood Convention Center over Memorial Day weekend May 23-25. A strong attendance of nearly 200 players took part mostly from Washington, Oregon, and British Columbia.  WCF Tournament Coordinator Dan Mathews and WCF President Josh Sinanan organized the event, which was directed by Fred Kleist with assistance from WCF Secretary Gary Dorfner. WCF Scholastic Director David Hendricks ran the scholastic tournament on Saturday, which attracted a record 112 players.  The full tournament rating report can be found here. Photos from the event can be found here.

Washington’s youngest ever State Champion and newly minted FM, Roland Feng, continued his hot streak and won the Open section with 5.5/6.  Half a point behind him were IM Raymond Kaufman and CM Tanraj Sohal, who drew their last round game on board 1 to tie for second with 5.0. Four players tied for third with 4.5: FM Costin Cozianu, CM Joshua Doknjas, NM Bryce Tiglon, and NM Samuel He.

Other winners include:

Trey Michaels, 1st Place Premier Section

Michael Schemm and Mary Kuhner, =2nd Premier Section

Mika Mitchell, Ishaan Puri, Neil Doknjas, Travis Olson =3rd Premier Section

Robin Tu, 1st Place Reserve Section

Dan Mathews, Jacob Mayer, Francisco Lopez, Patrick Huang, Brock Grassy, Vignesh Anand = 2nd-5th Place/1st – 2nd U1550 Reserve Section

Ethan Wu, 1st Place Booster Section

Daniel Shubin, Garrett Casey, Owen Xuan, Daniel Wilke, Holden Sweeden = 2nd – 4th Place / 1st U1100 Booster Section

Tournament Results

2015 WA State Championship Results

Roland and TrophyBelow are the final results of the 2015 WA State Championship, Premier, and Invitational Round Robins in order of tie-breaks.
A link to the USCF rating report can be found here.
Full results with crosstables can be viewed here.
Games from the first weekend can be found here and from the second weekend here.


NM Roland Feng 2295 6.5 1st $1,440
FM Costin Cozianu 2466 6.0 2nd $800
NM Bryce Tiglon 2258 5.5 = 3rd/4th $400
FM Curt Collyer 2313 5.5 = 3rd/4th $400
FM Tian Sang 2350 5.0 5th $160
FM David Bragg 2200 4.0
NM Daniel He 2227 4.0
FM William Schill 2215 3.5
NM Samuel He 2233 3.5
LM Viktors Pupols 2202 1.5


Derek Zhang 2061 6.5 1st $450
Kyle Haining 2090 6.0 = 2nd-4th $166.67
NM Michael MacGregor 2188 6.0 = 2nd-4th $166.67
Kevin Gafni 2077 6.0 = 2nd-4th $166.67
NM David Levine 2200 5.0 5th $50
NM Harley Greninger 2158 4.0
Cameron Leslie 2081 3.5
James Colasurdo 2059 3.5
FM Paul Bartron 2120 3.0
Anath Gottumukkala 1278 1.5


Chouchanik Airapetian 2017 7.0 1st $225
Neo Olin 1910 6.5 2nd $125
David Arganian 2000 6.0 3rd $75
Badamkhand Norovsambuu 2056 4.5 = 4th/5th $25
Alan Bishop 2000 4.5 = 4th/5th $25
Vikram Ramasamy 1880 4.5 = 4th/5th $25
Ryan Ackerman 1842 4.0
Michael Hosford 1954 3.5
Travis Olson 1860 2.5
Joseph Kiiru 1891 2.0

Thanks to everyone for taking part and making this such a wonderful event!  Any feedback/suggestions to improve the tournament are welcome.