Oregon Class Championships 2013 Results

57 players in 6 sections played chess Nov 2-3, 2013 at Lloyd Center Double Tree Hotel. The Oregon Chess Federation was the USCF affiliate and Grisha Alpernas of Lake Oswego was the Chief TD with Jonathan Fortune of Tualatin as his assistant. Carl Haessler of Lake Oswego and Steven Deeth of Beaverton both scored 3.5-1.5 to top the Top Section of 10 players. Micah Smith of Vancouver scored 4-1 to win the A Section of 11 players and push his rating over 2000. The B Section of 14 players was won with 4.5-.5 score by David Murray of Portland. His rating went up to Class A. The C Section had 12 players and a 4.5-.5 top score by Dagadu Gaikwad of Beaverton whose rating went up to Class B. The D was a win for Aaron Probst of Ridgefield, WA at 4.5-.5 over 9 other players.


By Russell (Rusty) Miller

In memory of Rusty Miller, 1942-2020. Former Editor and Business Manager of NORTHWEST CHESS. Worked for International Chess Enterprises 1991-2001. Former President Washington Chess Federation.